About Us

Our Project

Herbicide resistance is a rising economic problem in US agriculture. Increasingly, growers, crop consultants, and other agricultural professionals are turning to integrated weed management (IWM) — the practice of using multiple weed control tactics — to manage herbicide-resistant weeds on their farms. Combatting weeds with a combination of cultural, mechanical, and chemical strategies can create more sustainable and resilient weed control programs.

How GROW Can Help You

GROW (Getting Rid Of Weeds) is your trusted source on IWM tactics. Here you will find up-to-date, tested, and vetted resources on weed control tools such as cover crops, increased crop competition, harvest weed seed control and more.

Our Mission

GROW (Getting Rid of Weeds) is a scientist-led network coordinating research to help farmers across the U.S. fight herbicide resistance, by using a greater diversity of weed control strategies to complement chemical use.

Who We Are

The GROW team consists of agronomists, weed scientists, and economists from all over the United States:

Outreach, Media, and Website

Emily Unglesbee

Director of Outreach and Extension,
GROW

emilysu@vt.edu

Claudio Rubione

Outreach and Extension for GROW and Research Associate for IWM

crubione@udel.edu

Victoria Ackroyd

Research Associate, University of Maryland; Visiting Scientist, USDA ARS Beltsville Agricultural Research Center

victoria.ackroydack@usda.org

Eugene Law

PostDoc, University of Delaware, Research Scientist, USDA ARS Beltsville Agricultural Research Center

eplaw@udel.edu

Mid-Atlantic

Wesley Everman

Associate Professor of Small Grains and Weed Science,
North Carolina State University

wesley_everman@ncsu.edu

Michael Flessner

Associate Professor and Extension Weed Science Specialist, Virginia Tech

flessner@vt.edu

Steven Mirsky

Research Ecologist,
Sustainable Agricultural Systems Lab, USDA-ARS, Beltsville, MD

steven.mirsky@ars.usda.gov

Chris Reberg-Horton

Professor and Extension Organic Cropping Specialist,
North Carolina State University

chris_reberg-horton@ncsu.edu

Vijay Singh

Assistant Professor and Extension Weed Science Specialist, Virginia Tech

v.singh@vt.edu

Mark VanGessel

Professor and Extension Specialist,
University of Delaware

mjv@udel.edu

John Wallace

Assistant Professor of Weed Science,
Penn State University

jmw309@psu.edu

Harry Schomberb

Ecologist, Sustainable Agriculture Systems Lab,
USDA-ARS

harry.schomberg@usda.gov

North Central Region

Adam Davis

Professor and Head of Department of Crop Sciences, University of Illinois

adavis1@illinois.edu

Karla Gage

Assistant Professor of, Weed Science and Plant Biology, Southern Illinois University Carbondale

Kgage@siu.edu

Aaron Hager

Associate Professor and Extension Specialist of Weed Science,
University of Illinois

hager@illinois.edu

Erin Haramoto

Associate Professor of
Weed Science, University of Kentucky

erin.haramoto@uky.edu

Prashant Jha

Professor and Extension Weed Specialist,
Iowa State University

pjha@iastate.edu

Debalin Sarangi

Assistant Professor and Extension Weed Scientist,
University of Minnesota

dsarangi@umn.edu

Alyssa Essman

Visiting Assistant Professor,
Ohio State University

essman.42@osu.edu

Southern Region

Muthukumar Bagavathiannan

Professor of Weed Science and Agronomy,
Texas A&M University

muthu@tamu.edu

Kevin Bradley

Professor of Weed Science,
University of Missouri

bradleyke@missouri.edu

Nicholas Basinger

Assistant Professor Crop and Soil Sciences,
University of Georgia

Nicholas.Basinger@uga.edu

Western Region

Todd Gaines

Associate Professor of Molecular Weed Science,
Colorado State University

todd.gaines@colostate.edu

Lovreet Shergill

Assistant Professor (Weed Science), Montana State University

lovreet.shergill@montana.edu

Joe Ikley

Assistant Professor and Extension Weed Specialist,
North Dakota State University

joseph.ikley@ndsu.edu

John Lindquist

Professor of Weed Science and Production Systems, University of Nebraska

Jlindquist1@unl.edu

Vipan Kumar

Assistant Professor of Weed Science,
Kansas State University

vkumar@ksu.edu

Pacific Northwest

Ian Burke

Professor and R.J. Cook Endowed Chair of Wheat Research and Weed Science,
Washington State University

icburke@wsu.edu

Agricultural Economists

George Frisvold

Professor and Extension Specialist, University of Arizona

frisvold@ag.arizona.edu

WHY “GROW” IS OUR NEW NAME

One of the changes made to the Integrated Weed Management Resource Center website is the adoption of the name GROW for our collaborative, which represents our goals:

  • Getting Rid Of Weeds (GROW) through integrated weed management (IWM);
  • Increasing adoption of IWM practices;
  • Providing growers with reliable information to help eliminate weeds and slow the development of herbicide resistance;
  • Increasing yields as we get rid of weeds.

 

The logo is green to symbolize that, while IWM includes chemical use, we are also proposing non-chemical (greener) strategies. Furthermore, the monocot and dicot leaves represent the fact that we will cover all weeds.

This website will still act as a reliable resource center on integrated weed management practices and a place to read up-to-date articles on advances in IWM and become part of the discussion about herbicide resistance.

For questions to our team, please contact growinfo@grow-iwm.org
You can also sign up for an email subscription: