Grow Leadership Team

Team Introduction

The GROW Leadership Team consists of Team and Project Leads from each of the GROW Research and Extension initiatives. The Leadership Team meets regularly as a team and with the GROW Advisory Board to make decisions guiding the broad directions of the GROW Network, organizes annual GROW Winter and Summer Meetings, and coordinates partnerships with GROW’s external sponsors.

Team Resources

Team Drive


Current Projects

  • GROW Winter Meeting 2023 – Arlington, VA

Archived Projects

  • GROW Summer Meeting 2022 – Richmond, VA
  • GROW Winter Meeting 2022 – virtual

Team Lead

Steven Mirsky

Research Ecologist Sustainable Agricultural Systems Laboratory USDA-ARS Beltsville Agricultural Research Center

Team Members

Victoria Ackroyd

Administrative Support USDA-ARS

Muthu Bagavathiannan

PI, CIG On-farm Lead, Bayer Lead Texas A&M

Michael Flessner

Associate Professor and Extension Weed Science Specialist Virginia Tech Crop and Forage Weed Management Lab Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University

Eugene Law

Postdoc, Administrative Support USDA-ARS

Lauren Lazaro

PI, CE1 Lead, CPPM CC Lead Blue River Technology

Ramon Leon

PI, CIG Classic Lead NC State

Emily Unglesbee

Director of Outreach Virginia Tech

Mark VanGessel

PI University of Delaware