About Us

Our Project

Herbicide resistance is a rising economic problem in US agriculture. Increasingly, growers, crop consultants, and other agricultural professionals are looking toward IWM to more effectively target herbicide resistant weeds on their farms. IWM allows growers to use multiple weed management tactics together in order to combat weeds from various cultural, mechanical, and chemical tactics.

How GROW Can Help You

GROW (Getting Rid Of Weeds) is your trusted Integrated Weed Management (IWM) Resource Center. Here you will find up-to-date, helpful, and trustworthy resources on how to use and learn about IWM for herbicide resistant weeds.

Our Mission

GROW (Getting Rid of Weeds) is a publicly led network coordinating research and outreach, providing science-based information and decision support tools to make agriculture more sustainable and precise. We work to develop integrated weed management solutions that are practical and adoptable.

Who We Are

The GROW team consists of agronomists, weed scientists, and economists from all over the United States:

Mid-Atlantic

William Curran

Emeritus Professor of Weed Science,
Penn State University

wcurran@psu.edu

Wesley Everman

Associate Professor of Small Grains and Weed Science, North Carolina State University

wesley_everman@ncsu.edu

Michael Flessner

Assistant Professor and Extension Weed Science Specialist, Virginia Tech

flessner@vt.edu

Steven Mirsky

Research Ecologist,
Sustainable Agricultural Systems Lab, USDA-ARS, Beltsville, MD

steven.mirsky@ars.usda.gov

Chris Reberg-Horton

North Carolina State University

chris_reberg-horton@ncsu.edu

Vijay Singh

Assistant Professor and Extension Weed Science Specialist, Virginia Tech

v.singh@vt.edu

Mark VanGessel

Professor and Extension Specialist,
University of Delaware

mjv@udel.edu

John Wallace

Assistant Professor of Weed Science,
Penn State University

jmw309@psu.edu

North Central

Adam Davis

Professor and Head of University of Illinois-Champaign, Illinois

adavis1@illinois.edu

Karla Gage

Assistant Professor of, Weed Science and Plant Biology, Southern Illinois University Carbondale

Kgage@siu.edu

Aaron Hager

Associate Professor and Extension Specialist of Weed Science, University of Illinois

hager@illinois.edu

Erin Haramoto

University of Kentucky

erin.haramoto@uky.edu

Prashant Jha

Iowa State University

pjha@iastate.edu

Nicholas Jordan

Professor of Agroecology University of Minnesota

Jorda020@umn.edu

John Lindquist

Professor of Weed Science and Production Systems, University of Nebraska

Jlindquist1@unl.edu

South Central

Muthukumar Bagavathiannan

Assistant Professor of Weed Science and Agronomy, Texas A&M University

muthu@tamu.edu

Mandy Bish

State Extension Specialist, University of Missouri

bishm@missouri.edu

Jason Bond

Research and Extension Professor of Weed Science, Mississippi State University

jason.bond@msstate.edu

Kevin Bradley

Professor of Weed Science, University of Missouri

bradleyke@missouri.edu

Lauren Lazaro

Assistant Professor of Weed Science and Agronomy, Louisiana State University Agricultural Center

LLazaro@agcenter.lsu.edu

Jason Norsworthy

Professor of Weed Science, University of Arkansas

jnorswor@uark.edu

Larry Steckel

Associate Professor, and Row Crop Weed Specialist, University of Tennessee

lsteckel@utk.edu

Great Plains

Todd Gaines

Colorado State University

todd.gaines@colostate.edu

Pacific Northwest

Ian Burke

Washington State University

icburke@wsu.edu

Agricultural Economists

George Frisvold

Professor and Extension Specialist, University of Arizona

frisvold@ag.arizona.edu

Outreach and Website

Victoria Ackroyd

Research Associate, University of Maryland; Visiting Scientist, USDA ARS Beltsville Agricultural Research Center

victoria.ackroydack@usda.org

Kara Pittman

Research Associate, Virginia Tech

kbpittma@vt.edu

Claudio Rubione

Research Associate in Integrated Weed Management, University of Delaware

crubione@udel.edu

Lovreet Shergill

Post-doctoral Researcher, USDA-ARS, Beltsville, MD and University of Delaware, Georgetown, DE

lovereet.shergill@gmail.com

WHY “GROW” IS OUR NEW NAME

One of the changes made to the Integrated Weed Management Resource Center website is the adoption of the name GROW for our collaborative, which represents our goals:

  • Getting Rid Of Weeds (GROW) through integrated weed management (IWM);
  • Increasing adoption of IWM practices;
  • Providing growers with reliable information to help eliminate weeds and slow the development of herbicide resistance;
  • Increasing yields as we get rid of weeds.

 

The logo is green to symbolize that, while IWM includes chemical use, we are also proposing non-chemical (greener) strategies. Furthermore, the monocot and dicot leaves represent the fact that we will cover all weeds.

This website will still act as a reliable resource center on integrated weed management practices and a place to read up-to-date articles on advances in IWM and become part of the discussion about herbicide resistance.

For questions to our team, please contact growinfo@grow-iwm.org
You can also sign up for an email subscription: